Sunday Runday: Week of 2/27 (Boston Training Week #11)

screen-shot-2016-12-18-at-11-35-23-pm


Monday, 2/27:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 6 miles)

What I Did:

AM: A cold 6.37 miles in 1:03:05 (9:54 pace) before work. Legs felt dead! :O

PM: 4.52 miles in 39:37 (8:46 pace) with Moira (!) after work! Legs felt less dead. ๐Ÿ˜›

90 minutes of Bikram! Really feel like I’m improving in my form/flexibility/headspace, and honestly my muscles feel GREAT!

10.89 miles total

 

Tuesday, 2/28:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Strength 4 x 1.5 miles in 10:45-11:00 with 800 recoveryย (Goal = 3:12-317 marathon)

What I Did: I would have preferred to do this workout on the track because I find it easier for me to focus and run faster paces there, but the local college’s track doesn’t open until 6AM, and because I’ve been having issues with pacing, I figured I better get some practice off the track/treadmill sooner rather than later as Boston is quickly approaching! I have to run through downtown Albany to get to theย bike path that I run on for workouts, and it can get a little sketchy sometimes, especially in the dark. It’s not my favorite, but I think it’s definitely worth being more on guard for a little bit until more runners are up and at it to keep me company on the bike path rather than retreating to the treadmill. Struggled with pacing at first (shocker), but I think I got down to a good pace towards the end:

2.52 mile warm-up down to the bike path

4 x 1.5 miles with 800 recovery:

11:19 (7:40 + 3:39; 7:33 pace)

10:56 (7:11 + 3:45; 7:17 pace)-interestingly, this was my 1.5 mile time trial time before my high school freshman season of cross country!

10:50 (7:10 + 3:40; 7:13 pace)

10:28 (6:56 + 3:32; 6:59 pace)

2.5ish mile cool-down (I’m too lazy to count up all the laps/splits right now…)

12.46 miles total

Guy at the Donut Shop: Do you have special plans for these donuts? Me: Why, yes. Yes I do. ๐Ÿ˜‚ – Wasn't going to be able to see @pj28mont for his 30th (!) birthday today because I'm at the hospital all day (#somuchbusy here on inpatient psychiatry today!) and then on call at the psychiatric crisis unit from 5-11 tonight, so made a pit stop on my cool-down home to @ciderbellyofficial and delivered these tasty treats to the law school before Phil's 8AM class! Seeing each other everyday with our school/work schedules can be challenging, but we can usually make it work, even if it's just studying in neighboring cubicles or a quick donut handoff! ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿฉ๐Ÿคโค๏ธ โ€ขโ€ขโ€ข Day 72/120 of #bostonmarathon2017 Training: 4 x 1.5 mile strength workout along the bike path started off kinda slow-ish (tryna get a handle on this pacing business!) but hit my goal paces (10:45-11:00) for the final 3 sets: 11:19, 10:56, 10:50, 10:28.

A post shared by Meghan (@marathonsandmedicine) on

Wednesday, 3/1:

(What I Was Supposed to Do:ย OFF)

What I Did:ย Flexibility hot yoga class that was more flow than flexibility, but whatcha gonna do.

Day 73/120 of #bostonmarathon2017 Training: When your flexibility hot yoga class has a substitute teacher and it ends up being more strength work and less stretching than you anticipated. And then you get frustrated that you're frustrated about that (and because you're being a lazypants!) because, ya know, that's not the point of yoga. ๐Ÿคฆ๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ˜ฅ๐Ÿ˜‚ – Rest day of sleeping in, reflecting and praying on this first day of Lent, inpatient psychiatry rounds, my first time seeing electroconvulsive therapy, listening to a nurse practitioner student's presentation on the role of ketamine in treating major depressive disorder, role playing motivational interviewing with another student and psychologist, my own doctor's appointment, some errand running, and finally yoga before dinner, some studying, and settling down this evening. ๐ŸŒช๐ŸŒช๐ŸŒช – Unfortunately, didn't make it to church to receive ashes (#badcatholic), but in my defense, Ash Wednesday is not a Holy Day of Obligation, and today was crazy busy! โ˜น๏ธ However, I am trying to pray more this Lent by participating in a 40/40/40 prayer challenge: praying for 40 intentions for 40 people over the 40 days of Lent. If there's something on your heart that I can pray for, please submit it (with your name or anonymously) on the Google Doc linked in my profile!

A post shared by Meghan (@marathonsandmedicine) on

Thursday, 3/2:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Tempo 9 miles at 7:26 pace (goal = 3:15 marathon :O ))

What I Did: Ugh. This day/workout/life! Got out of work really late, had a friend who was going to pace me bail on me last minute, and it was already dark by the time I headed out. At the start of my tempo, my watch was not in the mood and was telling me I was running a “blazing” 9 minute pace when I knew I was running at least a minute and a half faster. I was already on edge because I was nervous about my first 9 mile tempo, so I decided to go try the workout at the gym rather than bust myself to be confused about pacing the whole time and then feel badly about how I was running “slower” than I was supposed to go. So, essentially, did a 6 mile warm-up, 9 mile tempo in 1:04:17 (7:09 pace, suckaaaaaas), and quick 1 mile cool-down home for 16.01 miles total, i.e. too much for a rando Thursday!

Day 74/120 of #bostonmarathon2017 Training: This week has been really meh for a variety of reasons, and for my OWN mental health, I really needed a good workout today. My tolerance for nonsense was pretty much at zero, so when my watch started acting up from the start of my dark #temporun outside, I got pissed, ran home, threw on the @oiselle crop top singlet that I've been mustering up the courage to rock (slash patiently waiting to wear when abs magically appear, whichever comes first ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿป) for an extra bit of confidence, marched myself to the gym, and made that tempo run mine. ๐Ÿ˜ˆ 9 miles in 1:04:17 (7:09 pace) and a whopping (and unexpected) 16 miles total. Got a bunch of confused looks and one "You go girl!" in response to repping the #sportsbrasquad, but really, I was beyond the point of caring. And it was liberating. ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ’ช #strongnotskinny

A post shared by Meghan (@marathonsandmedicine) on

Friday, 3/3:ย 

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 6 miles)

What I Did: Got out of work hella late again and had dinner plans, so only had time to get 3.62 miles in, but because of the way Thursday’s run went, I didn’t sweat it like I usually would. Crazy winds!

Saturday, 3/4:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 10 miles)

What I Did: 8.26 miles easy (but faster than my usual easy pace!), partly by myself, and partly with Erin, Allison, and others from their running team in some brutal wind and cold. Probably could have/should have run a little farther, but this week is a down mileage week anyway, so I’m not stressing.

Sunday, 3/5:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 10 miles)

What I Did: 6.58 miles in 1:03:46 (9:41 pace) with Phil. Could have (should have?) run farther, but I was getting hungry on our run!

Day 77/120 of #bostonmarathon2017 Training: 6.5 miles with @pj28mont to round out week 11 of training!

A post shared by Meghan (@marathonsandmedicine) on


Total Weekly Mileage = 57.82 miles

Total Boston Training Mileage = 575.68 miles

Down 8ish miles from last week-I’m not sure if that was too much of a jump down (should have probably been closer to 5), but does 3 miles really make that much of a difference? My guess = probably not.

One thought on “Sunday Runday: Week of 2/27 (Boston Training Week #11)

Leave a Reply

