Sunday Runday: Week of 2/20 (Boston Training Week #10)

screen-shot-2016-12-18-at-11-35-23-pm


Monday, 2/20:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 8 miles)

What I Did: Pre-work 8.08 miles (1:24:47; 10:29 pace) felt like death. I thought about turning back home a million and one times…and talked myself out of it a million and one times! ๐Ÿ˜› Also got in 90 minutes of Bikram after work and my muscles feel awesome!

Tuesday, 2/21:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Strength 6 x 1 mileย with 400 recoveryย (5k goal of 19:30-20:00))

What I Did:

AM: 3.20 miles in 32:12 (10:03 pace); Legs felt a MILLION times better than yesterday, but still a little dead. Contemplated what would happen if I was totally burned out with Boston in 8 weeks. :O

PM: Strength Workout

1.48 mile warm-up

6 x 1 mile on the track at UAlbany. There was still some ice/snow on the track so I spent a lot of my 24 laps on the track weaving in and out of lanes, but for some reason, my watch would record a mile split on my final straightaway each time, i.e. before I hit four laps. I’m not really sure which times are correct, but I’m going to go with the slower onesย so I don’t get too cocky, but here are my times for future record, in the following format:ย time at 4 laps (mile split on watch):

7:08 (7:03)

6:56 (6:40)

6:57 (6:38)

6:56 (6:45)

6:58 (6:40)

6:51 (6:39)

1ish mile cool-down

10.38 miles total

My body felt good, but the conditions weren’t ideal and my stomach really began to bother me towards the end.

13.58 miles total for the day

Wednesday, 2/22:

(What I Was Supposed to Do:ย OFF)

What I Did: Flexibility hot yoga class. #holytightmuscles!

Thursday, 2/23:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Tempo 8 miles at 7:26 pace (goal = 3:15 marathon :O ))

What I Did:

2.71 mile warm-up

8 mile tempo in 58:26 (7:18 pace; 7:51, 7:32, 7:18, 7:06, 7:19, 7:10, 7:12, 6:55)

2.52 mile cool-down

13.24 miles total

Friday, 2/24:ย 

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 7 miles)

What I Did: 7.05 miles with Luke at the Pine Bush (1:01:18; 8:41 pace)

Saturday, 2/25:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 8 miles)

What I Did: Moved my long run up a day early so I could run in Saratoga, a place I’ve wanted to run for a while with Fiona! Did my first 6.5ish by myself before Fiona met up for 10 more followed by brunch to make for such a lovely day! 17.07 miles total in 2:21:34 (8:17 pace; 8:36, 8:03, 8:00, 8:07, 7:59, 8:15, 8:46, 8:18, 8:14, 8:32, 8:19, 8:13, 8:14, 8:41, 8:40, 8:08, 7:49). My legs felt awesome towards the start, so much so that I had to force myself to more consciously control my stride at 8 minute pace, but I fizzled a bit for miles 14 and 15. I’ve gotta get a better handle on nutrition the night before and during runs. My last minute Powerbar Gels I grabbed from the depths of my pantry were definitelyyyy expired… ๐Ÿ˜›

"I cheer for people. I was raised to believe there's enough sun for everybody."-@traceeellisross โ˜€๏ธ๐Ÿ‘ฏ๐Ÿ’• โ€ขโ€ขโ€ข Day 69/120 of #bostonmarathon2017 Training: Had the best morning with @adktrigirl running through Saratoga Spa State Park and downtown Saratoga followed by some delicious bRUNch! (Can you say jalapeรฑo and pineapple scones?! ๐ŸŒถ๐Ÿ๐Ÿฅ๐Ÿณ) 7 solo miles + 10 miles with Fiona FLEW by with catching up about work, school, life, and upcoming races (can't wait to see her rock her half-marathon next month and IMLP 70.3 in September!). Getting slightly suspicious about how good my body has felt this week, but no complaints here! ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ˜‰

A post shared by Meghan (@marathonsandmedicine) on

Sunday, 2/26:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Long 16 miles)

What I Did: 7 miles in 1:07:07 (9:35 pace) at Hampton Manor Town Park…which I do not recommend for running. I went to flexibility hot yoga class after at a different location than I usually do and because I was headed to East Greenbush anyway, I thought I’d check out a spot that was recommended by the local newspaper for running. I made it work with running out on the main road and then getting some killer hills in, but I won’t probably go there again.

"Yoga allows you to rediscover a sense of wholeness in your life, where you do not feel like you are constantly trying to fit broken pieces together. Yoga allows you to find an inner peace that is not ruffled or rifled by the endless stresses and struggles of life. Yoga allows you to find a new kind of freedom you may not have known even existed."-BKS Iyengar โ€ขโ€ขโ€ข Day 70/120 of #bostonmarathon2017 Training: Not a yogi by any means, but I've really enjoyed the classes I've been going to this week and wish I usually had this much time to focus on stretching, reflection, and self-care. Also, substitute running for yoga, and the quote works beautifully! 7 windy, snow flurrying shake-out miles with some hills + flexibility hot yoga class. 66 miles total this week. ๐Ÿ™†๐Ÿป๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ๐ŸŒช

A post shared by Meghan (@marathonsandmedicine) on


Total Weekly Mileage = 66.02 miles

Total Boston Training Mileage = 517.86 miles

Leave a Reply

