Sunday Runday: Week of 2/13 (Boston Training Week #9)

screen-shot-2016-12-18-at-11-35-23-pm


Monday, 2/13:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 6 miles)

What I Did: 6 miles, mostly on the treadmill. Ugh.

Day 57/120 of #bostonmarathon2017 Training: Was daydreaming of frolicking in the snow my entire run on the #dreadmill. Also spent the whole 4.5 miles (6 miles total with a snowy warm-up and cool-down to and from the gym) toggling between a simulated run through New Zealand, two different running podcasts, attempts at watching Crazy Ex-Girlfriend on my phone, one of my fave Aly & AJ CDs circa 2007, and Say Yes to the Dress reruns. AND I was STILL bored out of my mind. We just got hit with a tooooon of snow this weekend, so looks like it's going to be a long week of running inside. 😐 Still, I'm happy to be able to run and work towards my goals each day! 🏃🏻‍♀️ Anyone else got any other good games to play on the treadmill? 😏

A post shared by Meghan (@marathonsandmedicine) on

Tuesday, 2/14:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Speed 3 x 1600 in 6:20-6:30 with 600 recovery (5k goal of 19:30-20:00))

What I Did: 3 x mile in 6:27, 6:23, 6:15 on the treadmill with 800 recovery. 9 miles total.

Wednesday, 2/15:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: OFF)

What I Did: Swam! And didn’t get ear plugs stuck in my ears again!

Thursday, 2/16:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Tempo 8 miles at 7:26 pace (goal = 3:15 marathon :O ))

What I Did: Was not into today’s run in the slightest. I clawed and fought for it, but really need to adjust my mindset when it comes to tempo runs in general. I’ve been running them WAY too fast, and it’s really hurting me mentally. 😦

8 mile tempo in 58:10 (7:16 pace; 7:11, 7:13, 7:19, 7:15, 7:18, 7:18, 7:18, 7:13). 12.56 miles total.

Day 60/120 of #bostonmarathon2017 Training: I like to keep this Instagram a positive space, but I run by "Fat One" spray painted on the sidewalk at least once a day and I absolutely HATE it. – Dying on my #hansonsmarathonmethod #temporun, I found my mind overflowing with negative self-talk. I can blame poorly thought out nutrition, lack of sleep, and a terrible playlist, but ultimately it comes down to being more realistic about my goals. Just because I CAN run 7-8 miles at sub 7 minute pace doesn't mean I can run a marathon (or half-marathon!) or should attempt to do weekly tempo runs at that same pace. Reevaluating how to set myself up for success on these scary tempo runs in the coming weeks and giving myself some serious pep talks before I attempt some hard workouts again next week. Like, "Fat One" to "FaSt One"! 😉🏃🏻‍♀️💨 – 8 miles in 58:10 (7:16 pace) with short breaks at miles 4 and 6 // 11.5 miles total

A post shared by Meghan (@marathonsandmedicine) on

Friday, 2/17: 

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 6 miles)

What I Did: Triple workout today! :O I love our Psychiatry schedule! 😛

#1: 6 miles in 1:02:08 (10:21 pace)

#2: 4.06 miles in 38:12 (9:25) pace, mostly because I wanted to take the new GoPro out for a spin. 😀

#3: 60 minute Bikram Hot Yoga Class. Thank God it was cut down from its usual 90 minutes-I don’t think I could have lasted another half hour!

10.06 miles total

Saturday, 2/18:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 10 miles)

What I Did: 8.03 miles at the Pine Bush in 1:23:36 (10:25 pace), which is actually a lot faster than I would have thought given those melty snowy conditions!

Sunday, 2/19:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 10 miles)

What I Did: 12.65 miles in 1:55:08 (9:06 pace) from Colonie Center to the Crossings to Siena and back! Was so happy to be running somewhere different than just around my neighborhood in Albany!


Total Weekly Mileage = 57.15 miles

Total Boston Training Mileage = 451.84 miles

Leave a Reply

