Sunday Runday: Week of 12/19 (Boston Training Week #1)

screen-shot-2016-12-18-at-11-35-23-pm


screen-shot-2016-12-25-at-10-35-16-pm

Monday, 12/19:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 6 miles)

What I Did: 6.82 miles (1:03:15; 9:16 pace-not gonna lie, was interrupted by a lot of photo taking). TMI, but what a way to start off Boston training with some serious monthly cramps! :O Was a chilly 28 degrees, but Insta reminds me it could definitely be a lot worse! I was not motivated to run down to the end of the street and back to get an even 7 miles. Where is Moira when you need her?! (AKA all the time, though).

I whip my hair back and forth. 💁🏻🏃🏻‍♀️⚡️#oisellevolée

A post shared by Meghan (@marathonsandmedicine) on

Tuesday, 12/20:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Speed 12 x 400 with 400 recovery at 1:35-1:38 pace (5k goal of 19:30-20:00))

What I Did: Kinda had to pick an arbitrary 5K time goal to come up with goal times for speedwork. Because I waaaaant to run a sub-20 5K again doesn’t mean I’m currently capable of that, but I was pleasantly surprised with how this workout went:

2 mile warm-up

12 x 400 with 400 rest: 1:33, 1:34, 1:33, 1:34, 1:29, 1:33, 1:33, 1:32, 1:32, 1:30, 1:29, 1:28

2 mile cool-down

I usually prefer to do workouts with more definitive negative splits, but this was consistent and close, so I’ll take it! The 1:29 in the middle came outta nowhere when someone else came on the track-I swear I wasn’t trying to run faster, but it’s funny how your mind works sometimes. 😛 Call it being exhausted from running this fast for the first time in months or leftover jet lag, but I set my head on my pillow to take a nap around 3PM…and woke up at 8PM. :O #winterbreakisawesome

10 miles total for the day!

Wednesday, 12/21:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: OFF)

What I Did: Made plans earlier in the week to run in DC with Robin, another med student and runner I met via Instagram. We met for the first time over Thanksgiving Break, and girl is SO cool. Robin goes to school in Michigan, but her husband lives in DC, about 45 minutes away from me in Maryland. She mapped out a cool route for us to do which included a lot of monuments and memorials, but we kept adding more and more things to our route, so we ended up running 11 miles (1:37:34; 8:53 pace)! :O This included the Washington Monument, World War II Memorial, Reflecting Pool, Lincoln Memorial, World War I Memorial (which I didn’t even know existed), FDR Memorial, Jefferson Memorial, Capitol Building, US Botanical Garden….and who knows where else! We own similar PRs, so it was really fun talking about our goals and training in addition to school things.  After, we headed to Sticky Fingers Bakery, a vegan bakery right by the Columbia Heights Metro Station (Robin is vegan).

DCIM138GOPRO

Obsessed with this shot of Robin that we took!

Today I re-remembered just how hungry and tired marathon training makes me! I haven’t had much of an appetite lately, and as a result, I woke up super hungry and later after our run, I was cranky as anything around 7PM before we ate dinner. I need to be more conscious about fueling my body properly, mostly because I can become the most hangry person I have ever known when I’m hungry!

Thursday, 12/22:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 6 miles)

What I Did: 4.44 miles (41:30; 9:22 pace) with Jen, my teammate from high school who also did Bike & Build a few summers after me, around the Lakefront. Legs felt tired, but like I could have moved if I really wanted to!

Friday, 12/23:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 6 miles)

What I Did: Skipped the rest day earlier in the week to make running dates but didn’t feel like doing nothing, so opted for a pool day! My watch read 2025 yards (I’m thinking it probably over or undercalculated at least one lap-I don’t remember jumping out of the deep end of the pool!), just over a mile.

Saturday, 12/24:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 6 miles)

What I Did: 4.80 miles (42:35; 8:53 pace) at the Charm City Run fun run with Angelica and some new friends! Felt like we were going faster than the suggested pace, but maybe it was the rain. Or the huge steak I ate for dinner last night. 😉

Sunday, 12/25:

(What I Was Supposed to Do: Easy 8 miles)

What I Did: 7.17 miles (1:10:01; 9:47 pace) before Christmas mass. My boyfriend asked me what pace I do most of my runs at (he’s a soccer/hockey/lacrosse player, but is training for a couple half-marathons this year! #successfulconvert), and I realized I really don’t run that fast for most of my runs. Not sure if this is a bad thing or not, but after overtraining in high school by running too many runs all out, maybe I’m afraid of running too much too fast? I’m not sure, but it’s seemed to have worked over the past year, so I’ll keep it up! I’ve found that the speed often comes with the higher mileage and that as long as I’m getting the miles in and am able to do the workouts at the faster speeds, it seems to work out.


Whoop! Feeling good so far!

Total Weekly Mileage = 44.18 miles

Total Boston Training Mileage = 44.18 miles

 

Leave a Reply

