2017 Boston Marathon Training Plan!

 

Screen Shot 2016-12-18 at 11.35.23 PM.png

Today I begin my Boston Marathon training! Feeling excited, terrified, and kinda hungry. 😛  I had a lot of success with Hanson’s Marathon Method in training for my BQ at the Shamrock Marathon earlier this year, so we are giving it a go again!

Here’s what the next 17 weeks of my life looks like:

screen-shot-2016-12-19-at-12-14-48-am

Spent ten years of my life formatting this to make it look pretty. #noregrets


Here are some of my goals heading into this training cycle:

1. Incorporate 2-3 days of strength training a week.

 

Still not entirely sure what this means *specifically* but if anyone has any suggestions, I would love any and all suggestions! And fast! Because, uh, training started today. I’m thinking a good start might be to…

2. Finish the 30 Day Plank Challenge. I’m taking this a step farther and doing the normal plank position, but also side planks. Thinking of doing 15 minutes of planks by the end of this thing is a little nutso right now, but we’ll take it day by day!

30-days-challenge-fitness-plank-favim-com-2675470

Only 2 days in, but so far, so good! 😀

 

 

 

3. Stretch daily and foam roll/Stick/lacrosse ball massage 2-3 times a week. Even though I have my own foam roller (a very thoughtful 21st birthday present from my parents and sister!), I usually don’t get around to foam rolling unless I’m already at the gym. Same goes for stretching for the most part, especially when it’s cold out and I just want to run inside! I want to be more diligent in taking care of tight/sore muscles off the bat to avoid any injuries down the line.

4. 7 hours of sleep a night. Recovery is important, and I’ve learned that I am so much more alert and on top of things in clinic when I’ve gotten my sleep. This might be a tough order with OB/GYN on deck (hello, early mornings and night float!), but it’s definitely something to strive for!

5. Be diligent about keeping a training log. Holy moley am I awful at this. That’s the main reason this blog exists-to make me log my workouts!

6. No more shopping for running clothes. Unless there is some massive Oiselle sale on sale on sale thing going on, no more shopping for running gear! I have wayyyy too much clothing than I need. And I should actually probably start giving some of that stuff I don’t use as much away. This is the time to focus on my running, not what I’m wearing.

7. PR, obvi!

 

Leave a Reply

