Sunday Runday: Week of 11/14

Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 6.17.30 PM


Monday, 11/14: 3 miles in the dark. I started off FREEZING and then was in just a sports bra and my running capris by the end! The dark gave me some confidence to bare my stomach. 🙂

Tuesday, 11/15: Today. Not so good. My first 3.2 miles outside around Lake Elkhorn were fine, but I’m still not feeling 100%. I had some time to kill before BodyPump started, so I made myself run the last 0.8 miles on the treadmill which felt like death! (For 4 miles total). BodyPump was a hot mess. I was not having it by the end of the first song if that gives you any indication how the next 40 minutes went. :O

 

Wednesday, 11/16: 3.5 miles in the dark. Like holy moley. Clarksville, put on some lights! :O

Thursday, 11/17: 6 whole miles today from the community college to the Lakefront and back! 😀 Pretty slow, but I will take anything these days!

6 WHOLE MILES TODAY! So much painful and out of shape, but I will take it! 🏃🏻‍♀️✌️️☀️ ••• Lotsa chief complaints of cough these days…and even a positive case for whooping cough in an unimmunized child this week in the office. #nobueno Whooping cough (aka pertussis) is caused by the bacteria Bordatella pertussis and is spread by respiratory droplets. It starts off with symptoms similar to a viral upper respiratory infection (mild cough, congestion) for 1-2 weeks, followed by the characteristic "whooping" cough during which the child may have difficulty breathing (YouTube it if you're curious, like I was; it's not cute!). The cough can take months to fully subside, which is why whooping cough is nicknamed the "hundred days cough." Complications of the infection include cessation of breathing, pneumonia, and even death. Get vaccinated to protect yourselves, your children, AND babies who are too young to receive the vaccine. You're not just helping your own family-you're doing a service to those around you! 😷💉 #shotshotshotshotshots!

A post shared by Meghan (@marathonsandmedicine) on

 

Friday, 11/18: When you finally seem to have kicked that darn cough and are feeling like a brand new woman! 😀 5 miles in the dark around Harpers Choice/Hobbits Glen + Body Pump class where I really pushed myself! The instructor at class on Tuesday said that ever set in Body Pump should feel like your last. I went up in weights for a lot of the sets and was surprised to see what I could do!

Saturday, 11/19: Met with my college friend Adam (he recently moved to Maryland for his post-doc) at the beautiful Quiet Waters Park in Annapolis for 4 quick miles. Holy moley my body has just been shuffling along for the past few days and moving faster was awful…ly awesome because that’s what getting back in shape requires-a couple sucky, sucky days. 😐 The park was beautiful, but a $6 admission fee was a little steep if you ask me. :O

 

Sunday, 11/20: Almost missed BodyPump, but one lady started grabbing equipment for me while another tapped me on the shoulder and said I could take her friend’s stuff she had set up as it looked like she wouldn’t be coming to class. Phew! This new set has some crazy squats/lunges in it. Is it normal for your legs to go numb during lunges…? Then headed to Baltimore to get in a pretty good feeling 5 miles before meeting some friends for brunch there.


Total = 30.5 miles

What! Is this possible?! Happy to be on the mend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

