Sunday Runday: Week of 9/26

Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 6.17.30 PM

Monday, 9/26: 65 minutes (7.5 miles) with Moira at the Pine Bush-I hadn’t been there for over two weeks, and Moira hadn’t been there for months! Love catching up with this girl over runs!

Tuesday, 9/27: Easy, easy, easy 6.5 miles before clinic (65 min). Legs were feeling pretty tired today, but I like to log a decent number of miles in the bank even when my legs are not feeling it.

Wednesday, 9/28: Woof. Was planning for 3 x 2 miles at goal half-marathon pace, but made it through one set (7:01, 6:51) before throwing in the towel. For some reason (maybe my half-marathon on Saturday, hmm…?) , my legs were pretty shot, and since we’re getting close to race day, I didn’t want to risk burning myself out physically or mentally by pushing through a workout like this. Learning the difference between actual fatigue where forcing yourself to slog through a workout is detrimental vs.Β pureΒ laziness and not wanting to do a workout is something I’ve learned to distinguish over the years. I can usuallyΒ tell when I’m just being a bum and need to suck it up! This was not one of those times. 5 miles total for the day.

Thursday, 9/29: My best (running) friend, Moira, and I always seem to be on the same wavelength. I love our weekly “You’ve probably run already, but if you haven’t, wanna meet up?”/”OMG I WAS JUST TEXTING YOU!”text exchange, and today was one of those days! We talked about our stressful days (it was a big exam week for her (actually, I feel like every week is a big exam week for her!) and a lot of presentations and a busy time on my Peds Infectious Diseases rotation on my end), and I told her about a blog entry that had been brewing in my head for months about body image. I drag this poor girl into so many impromptu photo shoots, but when I told her I had to take a picture of myself in a sports bra for the blog, she surprised me by not only supporting me, BUT JOINING IN! Honestly don’t know how I could have gotten through all the ups and downs of school so far and life without this girl’s constant encouragement, non-judgemental listening ear, and heart of gold.

Oh, and not to be overshadowed, we rocked a quick 7 miles in the dark. That run felt exactly how running should: crisp, carefree, and rejuvenating!

IMG_0973.JPG

Friday, 9/30: It was tempo run, take 2 for me. The week was busy and long, and I was tired! I had a bit of a snafu concerning the dress I had rented for a wedding on Sunday that tied me up on the phone after work (ugh, don’t get me started), and I knew I had to get to the gym by 6PM to get my hour-ish long tempo in. I got to the gym at 6:06PM, and I quickly realized there was no way I was going to be able to get 8 miles in in less than 54 minutes (not to mention the super nice lady working at the gym was, understandably, trying to make eye contact with me each time she passed by as if to say, “Yo, I’m tryna get outta work at 7 so wrap it up!”), so I “settled” for 7 miles in 48:33 (7:05, 7:02, 7:04, 6:58, 6:56, 6:51, 6:36)! That’s a 6:56 pace, people! #excitingtimes #lolrunningjokes I didn’t get much of a warm-up in because I was tryna get to the gym as fast as I could, but still got in a good 8.5 miles for the day.

Saturday, 10/1: I must really love my boyfriend because he convinced me to run with him when my legs just wanted to rest! Got 6.5 miles in (57ish minutes) down to the River and back.

Sunday, 10/2: Rest day! My hiking friend, Aubrey, is getting married later today, so maybe dancing can count as cross training! πŸ˜›


Total = 41 miles

Leave a Reply

