Sunday Runday: Week of 8/22

Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 6.17.30 PM.png

Such a hectic last week of my surgery rotation, but I still got some decent runs in most days! I haven’t been as rigid in my fall half-marathon training as I was training for the marathon last spring, but I think my (perhaps too) prolonged weeks of base-building (mostly just running an hour 6-7 days week) are actually paying off. I’m doing a sort of modified Hanson’s Half-Marathon Method, focusing more on speed work rather than strength work in the later weeks because I’d like to run a decent 5K this fall. I’m also trying to do longer tempo runs (the book only goes up to 7 miles at race pace) to give myself some more self-confidence going into my race.

If I continue to be diligent with my tempo runs and speed work each week, I think a decent half-marathon (maybe even 5K?!) PR may be on the horizon come October! I dare not utter my short-term and dream goals, but the more I run, the less and less scary those fast times seem and the more and more I get excited to continue to work towards them!


Here’s a rundown (ha, pun intended!) of last week:

Monday, 8/22: 6.25 miles in 57:34 (9:12 pace)

Tuesday, 8/23: 2.5 mile WU + 12 x 400 with 400 rest in 1:37, 1:34, 1:33, 1:31, 1:30, 1:29, 1:29, 1:28, 1:28, 1:27, 1:23 + 1 mile CD = 9.5 miles 

Each interval, it felt like my body just couldn’t move any faster, but it really came together on those last few! I was really proud of my mental strength during this one. Not so impressed with the local college’s men’s soccer team who liked to roam out into lane 1 while looking up at the clouds, totally unaware that I would absolutely ram into them if they continued to hog the public track…

Wednesday, 8/24: 9.5 miles in 1:30ish with Moira getting lost on the new Rail Trail! We also took, perhaps, the sketchiest route to get there, but at least now we know. 😛

Thursday, 8/25: Off (aka study my butt off for the Shelf exam!)

Friday, 8/26: 2.5 mile WU + 8 mile tempo  in 55:25 (average = 6:52 (!!!); 7:08, 7:04, 7:03, 6:57, 6:53, 6:49, 6:39, 6:18) on the treadmill + 2 mile CD outside = 12.5 miles

I was so proud of this workout! When it’s really hot out, it’s nearly impossible for me to move my body at the pace I want it to, so I’ve been doing my tempos on the treadmill. And by tempos, I mean the only two runs resembling tempo runs I’ve done over the last two weeks (last week was 7 miles at 7:03 pace!). And by last two weeks, I really mean over the last 5 months. It’s definitely a lot easier to hop on a treadmill and just run at the pace you set it to, but I’ve been pretty surprised at my fitness level. Hopefully it bodes well for my impending race! A good playlist doesn’t hurt either. 😀

Saturday, 8/27: Off (planned on sleeping in to recover from the 4:30-5:30AM wake-up calls during Surgery, but when you start your day at 11AM, it’s like the day is already over! Spent the day doing laundry, cleaning, and reorganizing my life! Totally ran out of time to run, but perhaps it wasn’t a bad thing because my mileage ended up being decently high this week).

Sunday, 8/28: Thacher Park Trail Running Festival Half-Marathon in 1:52:43 (8:35 pace)

This sneaky way of trying to get my long run in with other people ended up being really kind of stressful. The event is an excellent one, offering races of all distances: 5K, 10K, Half-Marathon, Marathon, and 50K, and the Albany Running Exchange always puts on a fun event. I should have known that it would have been a hilly race given the fact that, uh, it was at Thacher Park, and that I would have been alone most of the time given the previous years’ numbers, which was totally fine-ish…until I rolled my ankle around mile 10. I couldn’t walk at first and legit didn’t know what to do, but eventually was able to hobble along. Another runner passed me, not saying a word despite my obvious limping, but when I began running and passed him, he said, “Way to make a comeback!” :O  In the words of an adolescent JoJo, dude, you know, you’re just too little too late. I was hoping for 8:30 pace, but given the ankle fiasco, I happily accepted my second place female certificate-thing for an average 8:37 clip. Slash my friend picked it up for me and I didn’t actually accept it because I had to duck out early for a haircut. Oops.

I love getting lost in the woods when trail running, but every time something like this happens, I get really nervous about running in general, especially on the trails. Still, that’s not stopping me from going to the ARE’s last trail run of the summer next Thursday! Mostly because there’s a BBQ, and I like food a little too much.

Total = 51 miles (over only 5 days of running! How did that happen?!)

2 thoughts on “Sunday Runday: Week of 8/22

    • You inspired me to get back at it! I actually did the design myself! And by design, I mean like just the little headers and things. I just mess with cool fonts in text boxes and clip art in Word until I get something semi-okay looking. I can def help you with yours if you want!

      And thank you! Definitelyyy getting back into this whole running thang again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

